The NCAA Division II women’s lacrosse team will hit its denouement next Saturday in Winter Park, Fla. But after today’s play, none of the teams designated as a No. 1 regional seed — including defending national champion Pace — made it through.

Instead, the Final Four in Division II will include #3 seed East Stroudsburg (a 13-12 win over West Chester), #3 seed Regis University (a 10-9 win over Maryville), a #2 seed Tampa (winning 11-9 over Florida Southern), and #2 seed Adelphi (a 13-10 win over Pace).

The NCAA has re-seeded the four Final Four participants, putting Adelphi as the top seed for Thursday’s national semifinal against East Stroudsburg in a meeting of two teams from the Northeast U.S.

The other semifinal features Regis and Tampa — a team from Colorado and a team from Florida — in a matchup of two teams from non-traditional areas. One of these two is going to be in the national final next Saturday.

That’s a pretty amazing development for the sport of lacrosse.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here