Ferrari secured a second successive World Endurance Championship pole for Saturday’s Six Hours of Spa with their number 50 car.

The three-driver crew of Antonio Fuoco, Miguel Molina and Nicklas Nielsen took their second straight pole by half a second in hyperpole.

The number five Porsche Penske of Matt Campbell, Michael Christensen and Frederic Makowiecki will start alongside them on the front row of the grid.

The start of hypercar qualifying was delayed due to a heavy crash at Raidillon during the GT qualifying session, from which the driver emerged unscathed. Once the session began, two of the most fancied runners failed to reach the hyperpole shoot-out: Last year’s Le Mans winners in the number 51 Ferrari and the Six Hours of Imola-winning number seven Toyota.

In hyperpole, Fuoco put in the fastest lap of the session with around five minutes still to run in the session. But no one could beat the Ferrari driver’s efforts and the number 50 team took their second pole in the first three rounds.

The number five Penske Porsche will start second, with the number two Cadillac of Earl Bamber and Alex Lynn taking third on the grid. The number 99 Proton Porsche of Harry Tincknell, Neel Jani and Julien Andlauer will start from fourth ahead of the number 12 Jota Porsche.

The world champion number eight Toyota crew of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa will start down in seventh, with the third Ferrari 499P of Robert Kubica, Robert Shwartzman and Yifei Ye in ninth just behind the number 35 Alpine, which became the manufacturer’s first car to make it to hyperpole all season.

The six-hour race will begin on Saturday at 1pm local time, 12pm, UK time.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Qualifying result

Pos No. Class Team Car Drivers Time
1 50 Hypercar Ferrari AF Corse Ferrari 499P Antonio Fuoco/Miguel Molina/Nicklas Nielsen 2:02.600
2 5 Hypercar Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963 Matt Campbell/Michael Christensen/Frederic Makowiecki 2:03.107
3 2 Hypercar Cadillac Racing Cadillac V-Series.R Earl Bamber/Alex Lynn/ 2:03.115
4 99 Hypercar Proton Competition Porsche 963 Harry Tincknell/Neel Jani/Julien Andlauer 2:03.314
5 12 Hypercar Team Jota Porsche 963 William Stevens/Callum Ilott/Norman Nato 2:03.384
6 6 Hypercar Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963 Kevin Estre/Andre Lotterer/Laurens Vanthoor 2:03.448
7 8 Hypercar Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota GR010 Sebastien Buemi/Brendon Hartley/Ryo Hirakawa 2:03.572
8 35 Hypercar Alpine Endurance Team Alpine A424 Paul-Loup Chatin/Jules Gounon/Charles Milesi 2:03.685
9 83 Hypercar AF Corse Ferrari 499P Robert Kubica/Robert Shwartzman/Yifei Ye 2:04.048
10 20 Hypercar Bmw M Team WRT BMW M Hybrid V8 Sheldon Van Der Linde/Robin Frijns/Rene Rast 2:04.062

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

World Endurance Championship

Browse all World Endurance Championship articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here